home about blog newsletter articles search contact help my account make a payment

Payment Now Due from "Corp-Billing"

You should always know who your website is hosted with, and who your domain names are registered with, and never make a payment to a different location, after a notification by email without having confirmed the legitimacy of the notice. Especially when services are only generically mentioned.

Here is an email we received in December of 2007...

Subject: Payment Now Due
From: "Corp-Billing"
Date: Tue, 26 Dec 2006 07:26:35 -0500
To: xxxxxxxxx@upwebmaestro.com

Dear Customer,

Your website services are now due, Domain security and website server hosting billing will be directed from Corp-Billing from this point. Please note that all previous hosting and domain services have been transferred to Corp-Billing Inc.

Current billing includes all web services for 2007 calendar year. Next scheduled billing will be sent 12/23/2007.

Please respond ASAP so that website and domain interruption doesn't occur,

Domain/e-mail and server are scheduled to terminate by December 29th at 5:00am.

 

Secure payment link: Please follow our quick pay link below.

 

Pay now with PayPal

Thank you,

Corp-Billing Inc

customerservice@corp-hosting.com

Complete Headers

Here are the headers from the message we received, in case you want to compare anything to a message you have received.

From - Tue Dec 26 14:07:18 2006
Return-path: <billing@corp-hosting.com>
Envelope-to: xxxxxxxxx@upwebmaestro.com
Delivery-date: Tue, 26 Dec 2006 04:27:08 -0800
Received: from upwebmae by maryland.networkphantom.net with local-bsmtp (Exim 4.63)
    (envelope-from <billing@corp-hosting.com>)
    id 1GzBOa-0007KD-M2
    for xxxxxxxxx@upwebmaestro.com; Tue, 26 Dec 2006 04:27:08 -0800
Received: from [67.29.153.40] (helo=mail.extrasecurity.com)
    by maryland.networkphantom.net with esmtp (Exim 4.63)
    (envelope-from <billing@corp-hosting.com>)
    id 1GzBOa-0007IP-5A
    for xxxxxxxxx@upwebmaestro.com; Tue, 26 Dec 2006 04:27:04 -0800
Received: from d47-69-43-94.try.wideopenwest.com [69.47.94.43] by mail.extrasecurity.com with SMTP;
    Tue, 26 Dec 2006 07:26:41 -0500
From: "Corp-Billing" <billing@corp-hosting.com>
Subject: Payment Now Due
To: xxxxxxxxx@upwebmaestro.com
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="ynAdIbfz2KBMWJQf8pOqiFMfhKoO=_eQ8n0"
MIME-Version: 1.0
Reply-To: customerservice@corp-hosting.com
Date: Tue, 26 Dec 2006 07:26:35 -0500
Message-Id: <E1GzBOa-0007KD-M2@maryland.networkphantom.net>

Additional Resources:

Where to Report:

If you've received a message claiming to be from Amazon, PayPal, etc. and you're pretty sure it's a scam, you can forward it to an email address to report it. Here's a short list of appropriate reporting email addresses: